Kiss Me in New YorkTitle: Kiss Me in New York

Author: Catherine Rider

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Kids Can Press

The Blurb

It’s Christmas Eve at JFK in NYC. Charlotte is a British student, waiting for a flight home after the worst semester of her life. Anthony is a native New Yorker, surprising his girlfriend at the airport after three months apart. Charlotte has just been dumped, and Anthony is about to be dumped, right in the middle of the holiday crowd. Charlotte’s flight is cancelled when a blizzard blows in, and Anthony can’t bear to go home. So, they set out into the city together, clutching a book Charlotte picks up in the airport gift shop: Ten Easy Steps for Getting Over Your Ex.

For this one night, they’ll focus on healing their broken hearts … together. Step-by-step, the two struggle to put the past behind them. But the snow is so enchanting, and the holiday lights are so beguiling, that soon their shared misery gives way to something else. Soon, they’re not only over their exes — they’re falling for each other. Then a subway ride splits them up by mistake. Will they reunite before Charlotte’s flight leaves New York forever?

Part Before Sunrise, part Sleepless in Seattle, this delightful story will appeal to anyone who sees the romance in a swirl of snowflakes at the top of the Empire State Building, or anyone who’s wondered if true love was waiting at the other end of the airport ticket counter.

The Review

Can someone please take me to New York and kiss me…like now!

Oh be still my heart, Kiss Me in New York by Catherine Rider is like one gorgeously long meet cute. Charlotte and Anthony meet in inauspicious circumstances but being in one of the most magical and romantic cities in the world (and at Christmas time no less) works its power.

Charlotte and Anthony’s epic adventure sees them traipsing the city on Christmas Eve following a self-help book’s advice. It really is a charming story that I was unique, fresh and seriously entertaining.

If this is the type of YA novel that we can come to expect from Catherine Rider then I am very excited to see what else she has in store.

Kiss Me in New York by Catherine Rider is available now.

For more information regarding Catherine Rider (@CRiderYA) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Kids Can Press (@KidsCanPress) please visit www.kidscanpress.com.

4 Stars

A Very Merry Manhattan ChristmasTitle: A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas

Author: Darcie Boleyn

Pages: 201 Pages

Publisher: Canelo

The Blurb

Lucie Quigley hates Christmas. It’s the time of year when everything goes wrong in her life. So this year, when she’s asked to be a bridesmaid at her friend Petra’s Manhattan wedding, she jumps at the invitation to escape the festivities.

Dale Treharne has been best friends with Lucie for as long as he can remember. He’s used to looking out for his oldest friend and when she asks him to be her plus one, he can’t seem to find a reason to refuse. Instead, he sees it as a way to help Lucie get through what is, for her, the most miserable time of the year.

In New York, as the snow starts to fall, Lucie and Dale start to realise that their feelings run deeper than just friendship. But can they overcome their pasts, and make it a very merry Manhattan Christmas?

The Review

Oh I do love a good romance. Oh and I love Christmas. Oh and I do love New York. Combine these three things and you have the fabulous romantic read A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas by Darcie Boleyn. Winner winner.

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas is the wonderfully festive tale of two friends who are meant to be together finding love and discovering something that had been there all along. Lucie and Dale have been friends for forever and even though everyone around them can see that they are meant to be together they are really tentative when it comes to actually making that leap.

What was lovely about A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas is that the love between the characters bounced off the page. When it was compared to less successful relationships in the story you can see how well suited Dale and Lucie are.

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas isn’t a long story, at only 201 pages it could easily be read in one sitting. It is the perfect book to get you in the festive mood.

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas by Darcie Boleyn is available now.

For more information regarding Darcie Boleyn (@DarcieBoleyn) please visit www.darcieboleyn.wordpress.com.

For more information regarding Canelo (@canelo_co) please visit www.canelo.co.

3 Stars

PiglettesTitle: Piglettes

Author: Clementine Beauvais

Pages: 224 Pages

Publisher: Pushkin Press

The Blurb

A wickedly funny and life-affirming coming-of-age roadtrip story – winner of France’s biggest prize for teen and YA fiction.

Awarded the Gold, Silver and Bronze trotters after a vote by their classmates on Facebook, Mireille, Astrid and Hakima are officially the three ugliest girls in their school, but does that mean they’re going to sit around crying about it?

Well… yes, a bit, but not for long! Climbing aboard their bikes, the trio set off on a summer roadtrip to Paris, their goal: a garden party with the French president. As news of their trip spreads they become stars of social media and television. With the eyes of the nation upon them the girls find fame, friendship and happiness, and still have time to consume an enormous amount of food along the way.

The Review

Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais is one of the most funny and most charming books that I have read this year.

It centres round the lives of three girls: Astrid, Hakima and protagonist Mireille have all been the victim of a cruel high school prank. They have been named the three ugliest girls in the school. Whilst two of the girls are devastated by this, seasoned Piglet Mireille takes it in her stride. She befriends the other girls to make them feel better about themselves. Together (along with Hakima’s older brother Kadar) the girls travel by bike across France to get to Paris.

So, Piglettes is many things. It is a YA novel, it is a coming of age drama and it is an affirmative book about finding the good things and loving them. It is a brilliant novel.

Beauvais characters are wonderful. Mireille is a tonic. She reminded me of Georgia Nicholson from the Louise Rennison Angus Thongs series. So sure of herself and completely banging to the beat of her own drummer. She is a heroine for the 21st century. I loved her.

Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais is available now.

For more information regarding Pushkin Press (@PushkinPress) please visit www.pushkinpress.com.

4 Stars

Title: The Amityville Horror

Author: Jay Anson

Pages: 188 Pages

Publisher: Pan

The Blurb

On December 18th, 1975, George and Kathy Lutz, with their three children, moved into their new home at 112, Ocean Avenue, Amityville.

Twenty eight days later, they fled from the house in terror.

Plagued by extreme cold and strange unearthly smells, by clouds of flies in the dead of winter, by voices and music that came from nowhere, by green slime that came from the walls…by unspeakable phenomena inconceivable this side of the gates of Hell!

The Review

Ok, let me paint a picture. I’m sitting in my house reading and I realise that I have never really read a horror story. Like ever. So I picked up The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson and I prepared myself to have the wee scared out of me. I had a pair of nail scissors, a heavy book and a remote control next to me to be used as a weapon should I be attacked by anything nasty.

The only thing that attacked me was a nasty case of disappointment. Maybe it is my Gen X MTV attitude but it just didn’t have any effect on me whatsoever. I am disappointed.

I’m sure The Amityville Horror was scary in its day but it just isn’t as powerful with a modern day audience.

The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson is available now.

2 Stars

36 Questions tht Changed My Mind About YouTitle: 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You

Author: Vicki Grant

Pages: 352 Pages

Publisher: Perseus Books/Running Press Books

The Blurb

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by the New York Times and its “Modern Love” column, this contemporary YA is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park.

Two random strangers. Two secrets. Thirty-six questions to make them fall in love.

Hildy and Paul each have their own reasons for joining the university psychology study that asks the simple question: Can love be engineered?

The study consists of 36 questions, ranging from “What is your most terrible memory?” to “When did you last sing to yourself?” By the time Hildy and Paul have made it to the end of the questionnaire, they’ve laughed and cried and lied and thrown things and run away and come back and driven each other almost crazy. They’ve also each discovered the painful secret the other was trying so hard to hide. But have they fallen in love?

Told in the language of modern romance–texting, Q&A, IM–and punctuated by Paul’s sketches, this clever high-concept YA is full of humor and heart. As soon as you’ve finished reading, you’ll be searching for your own stranger to ask the 36 questions. Maybe you’ll even fall in love.

The Review

Sometimes you just need a bit of light-hearted romance and fluff and boy do you get it by the bucket load with Vicki Grant’s delightful novel 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some serious issues that are dealt with in this book but you will have to read it to get to the nitty-gritty of those dramas.

I want to talk to you about love love love. In particular the bourgeoning relationship between Hildy and Paul who both take part in a psychological study. They each have to answer 36 questions honestly and then the theory is that they will fall in love. Except to begin with, they both kind of hate each other. It doesn’t make for a great start to a relationship.

However, as the novel goes on we realise that these perfect strangers are actually rather perfect for each other.

36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant is the kind of novel that you get fully invested in. You root for these characters and oh my days it is such an easy read. Before you realise it you have nearly finished the book. Honestly, 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You begs for a part 2.

36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant is available now.

For more information regarding Vicki Grant (@VickiGrantYA) please visit www.vickigrant.com.

For more information regarding Perseus Books (@PerseusBooks) please visit their Twitter page.

For more information regarding Running Press (@Running_Press) please visit www.runningpress.com.

35 Stars