Title: A Little Princess

Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett

Pages: 242 Pages

Publisher: Puffin In Bloom

The Blurb

Sara Crewe, an exceptionally intelligent and imaginative student at Miss Minchin’s Select Seminary or Young Ladies, is devastated when her adored, indulgent father dies. Now penniless and banished to a room in the attic, Sara is demeaned, abused, and forced to work as a servant. Ho this resourceful girl’s fortunes change again is at the centre of A Little Princess, one of the best-loved stories in all of children’s literature.

(GOODREADS BLURB)

The Review

In my quest to read the Puffin in Bloom series last year, I found a new love for children’s classics. A Little Princess was no exception. Now, for reasons of full disclosure, I used to be terrified of A Little Princess. When I was really little we had a video tape of the Shirley Temple black and white version of the movie and it scared the be-jesus out of me. I was that scared that I made my mum tape over it. For the past few years I have scoffed at my own silliness but then recently my 4 year old niece had to throw my Amazon Echo in the bin because she was scared of Alexa (it was in a plastic bag and we fished it out afterwards). It just goes to show that we can’t always be in control of the things that scare us.

Anyway, back to A Little Princess. It is absolutely charming. The story of Sara Crewe, her rise and fall yet her total grasp of dignity and class. It is heart-warming to the very end. Frances Hodgson Burnett really did write a winner with A Little Princess. I don’t think I will be watching the movie any time soon but I would definitely give the book a re-read.

A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett is available now.

Title: My Teenage Diary

Time: 19 Hours Five minutes

The Blurb

Forty-five episodes from Series 1-8 of the Sony Award-winning BBC Radio comedy show, hosted by Rufus Hound.

In this hilarious and revealing show, host Rufus Hound invites his guests to revisit their formative years by dusting off their intimate teenage diaries and reading them out in public for the very first time. From terrible poetry, musings on pop music and cringeworthy crushes to fond recollections of schooldays and exotic holidays, to poignant and searingly honest confessions, these extracts reveal the secret thoughts, feelings and experiences of a host of well-known celebrities – before they became famous.

Among the contributors are Richard Herring, Shappi Khorsandi, Sheila Hancock, Meera Syal, Arabella Weir, Robert Webb, Caitlin Moran, Ken Livingstone, Terry Wogan, Alex Horne, Lionel Shriver, Michael Rosen, Ian Rankin, Debbie McGee and John Finnemore.

As they delve into the past and reflect on their youth, will they be filled with nostalgia or embarrassment? What would they say to their younger selves? And what song will they choose to sum up their teenage years? Find out all this – and a lot more besides – in these surprising, insightful and hugely entertaining shows.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I have been delving into the world of audiobooks recently and what I have come to realise is that I prefer audiobooks when they are a) books I have already read but want to come back to or b) non-fiction.

With that in mind, I spent a few weeks dipping in and out of My Teenage Diary; a compilation of stories that featured on the BBC radio program of the same name presented by Rufus Hound. The premise of the show is that well known celebrities come on air with their teenage diaries and reveal who they once were.

It is absolutely charming and funny and silly. It is great because it makes you realise just how awkward some of your favourite celebrities are and in some cases how little they have changed. Personal highlights for me were Caitlin Moran (she is my Patronus) and Robert Webb.

If you are going to spend your hard earned dollars on any audiobook this year then make sure it is My Teenage Diary.

My Teenage Diary is available now in book form and in audiobook.

 

 

Title: Carrie

Author: Stephen King

Pages: 306 Pages

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

The Blurb

Carrie White is no ordinary girl.

Carrie White has the gift of telekinesis.

To be invited to Prom Night by Tommy Ross is a dream come true for Carrie – the first
step towards social acceptance by her high school colleagues.

But events will take a decidedly macabre turn on that horrifying and endless night as she
is forced to exercise her terrible gift on the town that mocks and loathes her . . .

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Ok. So this is probably going to be an unpopular opinion because I know that Stephen King is the master of horror and a genius at his craft but I just didn’t rate Carrie. I think the problem is that I was expecting to be absolutely petrified and I just wasn’t. I was a little bit underwhelmed if truth be told. This may have been due to many reasons; those being: I am of a generation that has seen so many real life horrors that it will take something pretty massive to scare me or because of Stephen King’s legendary status I was just expecting more.

One thing I will say about Carrie is that it really does excel in showing the cruelty of school kids. That is something that he definitely got right.

I plan to read more of King’s novels to see if this was just a one off.

Carrie by Stephen King is available now.

For more information regarding Stephen King (@StephenKing) please visit www.stephenking.com.

For more information regarding Hodder & Stoughton (@HodderBooks) please visit www.hodder.co.uk.

Title: The Poet X

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: Electric Monkey

The Blurb

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.

Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

The Poet X is a story told entirely in verse. This in itself is nothing new. We have seen other writers express themselves in this way – notably, Sarah Crossan. The Poet X takes this concept and almost has writer Elizabeth Acevedo bleed her thoughts and emotions on the page.

The story is about Xiamora. It is about being a teenager. It is about being of Dominican descent and what is expected of her. It is about being a girl in a world that favours the male. Mostly, it is about growing up with these life conditions and trying to find your own place and not the one that is expected by her extremely religious mother.

My heart broke so many times when I read this story. As a reader, you feel the claustrophobia that Xiamora feels. How the world is both so big and so small at the same time.

The Poet X is amazing. Read it now.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo is available now.

For more information regarding Elizabeth Acevedo (@AcevedoWrites) please visit www.acevedowrites.com.

For more information regarding Electric Monkey (@EMTeenFiction) please visit www.electricmonkeybooks.co.uk.

Title: Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending

Author: Lauren Leto

Pages: 192 Pages

Publisher: Gotham Books

The Blurb

In the tradition of The Truth About Chuck Norris, PostSecret, and I Can Has Cheezburger?, Texts from Last Night celebrates the funniest and most outrageous text messages from the instantly popular website

There are few forms of communication that are more entertaining, appalling, and laugh-out-loud hilarious than the text message-especially when it’s received in the wee hours of the morning from a friend who has had one too many shots of tequila.Texts from Last Night is a celebration of the best, worst, and weirdest text messages that have ever been sent, such as:

Before i could say “i’m not the kind of girl,” i was

I got us kicked out of the bar because the waitress found me in the kitchen trying to make spaghetti

The ticket read “found nude in a tree”

Texts from Last Night is chock full of LOL and WTF moments and will make any thumb-typer 🙂 in recognition.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Having recently read Lauren Leto’s Judging a Book by its Lover and enjoying it I decided to see what else she had released and I came across this little gem of a book. It isn’t a big book by any means, I believe you would call it pocket sized but it is pocket sized full of fun. It is hilariously funny to the point that I was making funny noises whilst reading it as I tried to contain my laughter.

If you read this book then I have a warning. Do not read it on the commute to or from work. You will get yourself a few funny looks.

Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending by Lauren Leto is available now.

For more information regarding Lauren Leto (@laurenleto) please visit www.judgingabookbyitslovere.com.